Reviews – Cottage In Guernsey Reviews – Cottage In Guernsey

Reviews

We had a great time in the cottage. Everything was as described or better, David and Diana were excellent and vary caring hosts. Our kids absolutely loved the pool and we enjoyed the thoughtful details both inside and out of the house. It’s just a short drive into town and here are both restaurant and beach within a short walking distance. We’ll definitely be back here in the future.

Johan
September 2020

The cottage provided lovely accommodation for self-isolating.  My daughter and I stayed for 2 weeks as we were attending a family wedding, self-isolating for the first 7 days before having the Covid test.  The accommodation was perfect, with plenty of space so we could have privacy if needed.  We both worked during the period of isolation and the wi-fi was fine for general browsing, email, etc.  The kitchen is really well stocked with good appliances, the beds are really comfortable and the shower is great.

The main reason we chose this cottage over other apartments or hotel rooms was the outdoor space.  The lovely courtyard adjacent to the kitchen and the lower garden area, both with table and chairs, allowed us to sit out in different areas, so not feeling cooped up.  I particularly enjoyed using the fresh herbs from the garden.  The hosts were easy to contact if we needed anything and responded quickly to all my queries in advance of our stay.  I would definitely recommend the cottage, whether or not self-isolating, and look forward to returning in the future.”

Dawn
September 2020

Très jolie petite maison de campagne typique, cosy, bien équipée, confortable, accessible en bus depuis le port, proche de la mer et de jolie côte sauvage de Guernesey…

Jimmy
April 2019

Nous avons été très chaleureusement accueillis par David et avons passé un superbe séjour à Guernesey. La maison est très bien aménagée et la situation géographique est idéale pour rejoindre les différentes parties de l’île. La maison est conforme aux photos et très propre. La literie est très confortable. David avait prévu des mets pour nous accueillir que nous avons apprécié. A noter excellent restaurant a 5 mins du logement. Nous recommandons ce logement les yeux fermés. Encore merci David!!!!!

Grégory
June 2019

Prachtige plek, Op loopafstand van het strand. Maar ook mooi eigen terras en gebruik van zwembad.

[Beautiful place, Walking distance to the beach. But also nice private terrace and use of swimming pool.]

Joke
July 2019

The cottage of David and Diana is wonderful. It is a bit like living in a fairy tale, this romantic little house in the beautiful landscape with all the hedges. The kitchen is well equipped, the shop is at walking distance (we did not rent a car) and you can buy eggs, honey and vegetables everywhere in the so called hedge vegs. The sea is quite near and you can make beautiful walks on the cliffs, along the sea, or in the country. The bedroom is great, with a nice and comfortable bed in a very light room. It would be perfect with children, because of the adjoining room with two more beds. We could use the (warm) pool and also stayed a lot in the garden, where there are different places to sit, following or avoiding the sun. There is even a place from where you can see the sea. David and Diana were very helpful. We stayed for 9 days but could easily have stayed much longer and hope to be back one day.

Kitty
July 2017

The cottage Pres de la Hure is a lovely place to stay. It’s got all the convenience of a ‘home’ and besides it is situated on a beautiful part of the island on a 10 min. walk from the beach. David and Diana were not there during our stay, but their son gave us useful information about where to eat (we loved the Indian restaurant) and what to do (e.g. a day trip to Sark including lunch at La Sablonnerie, kayaking at the Petit Bot). You will not regret a stay in this cottage!!
Kitty

Ilse
July 2018

Highly recommend staying in David & Diana’s home! We are a family of 4 with teenagers, and there is lots of space and a high level of comfort provided in a very clean setting. The location is PERFECT!!! Very scenic spot in a lovely country lane and so easy to get around Guernsey. We would definitely stay again, and I thoroughly recommend you do too!
David

Maryen
October 2018

This was an extension of our longer stay – because we loved being there so much!

Maryen
October 2018

Fantastic location and fantastic hosts! We had a wonderful time.

Georgina
May 2019

Lovely area and lovely hosts – David and Diana welcomed us with a complimentary food package and flowers – outstanding hospitality! Nicely decorated and very well equipped small cottage with lots of lovely garden areas to stay and catch the sun – due to bad weather we couldn’t use them and the quite big pool. Highly recommended.

Cora
June 2019

Fantastic cottage in Guernsey rural environment. Very close to the sea with stunning views and beautiful beaches. Warm welcome by friendly David and his wife with local products. Super hosting. Well equipped facility. Be aware that the use of the swimming pool is limited. (not in weekends and before 9.00 and after 17.00). Also keep in mind that the airport is very close which leads to low landing or starting planes in the morning (from 07.00) and in the evening. All in all a super location and cottage in beautiful Guernsey.

Bart
July 2019

This fantastic cottage is in a beautiful location, perfect for country and beach walks. The cottage its self is very well furnished and stocked with all you could possibly need. Extremely comfortable beds and wonderful hospitality rounded off a great stay. Thank you both so much for sharing your lovely home.

Karen
October 2019

The cottage has great charm and a peaceful atmosphere. Though small it was roomy enough for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. We enjoyed having the variety of outside spaces, with places to sit in sun or shade, and the viewing point where we could watch the sun set over the sea was a bonus. The pool and poolhouse were much enjoyed. David and Diana made us very welcome, and were prompt in dealing with any small issues or supplying extra items that we asked for. We were enormously grateful for the groceries supplied in the kitchen & fridge, after a long day’s travelling and a delayed ferry crossing. Torteval is an excellent location for exploring Guernsey – although we had the car, we often used the bus as it was such a good service. The seafront is about a 15 minute walk, with a good teashop serving food to 4pm. For evening meals, there is a hotel on the seafront which takes about 20 minutes to walk to from the cottage.

Jane
August 2017

Lovely cottage-style accommodation which was well equipped. Owners could not have been more hospitable!

Andrew
September 2017

Lovely and well appointed cottage. Beautiful setting. Surprisingly spacious inside and good amenities. Quiet location despite being right on the road, and location encourages exploration of the island. Sleeping arrangements- one double bed and twin beds in the other room; bedrooms are interconnected (accessed through main bedroom). Swimming pool area very nice and also well appointed, but check your dates if you are keen to swim for when the pool opens (available once the weather warms up).

Victoria
May 2018

We had a lovely stay at David’s cottage which was set in beautiful, tranquil Guernsey countryside – very thoughtfully equipped with everything one could need including some lovely quality items which added to our stay Bedlinen, glasses, crockery etc

Koko
May 2018

David and Diana’s house is lovely. It is in a really quiet location not far from a stunning beach. The house is welcoming, the kitchen is well equipped and the gardens are well maintained. The pool and summer house are really nice and despite going around the island every day, we managed to use them few times. Parking was a little tricky to start with, but after a bit of practice it was not a problem! Guernsey is a beautiful island, with loads of beaches all easily reached. You can drive everywhere in the island from the house in less than 30 minutes.

Michele
June 2018

Lovely cottage with few personal touches which made us feel very welcome. David and Diana are fantastic hosts and generally very welcoming and helpful.

Maiia
June 2018

Our first holiday with a baby. Really enjoyed our stay in Torteval. The house is very well equipped with lots of thoughtful extras. You can reach both the south cliffs and west beaches easily from the house, so a great base to explore from. The pool area really added to our stay. Would highly recommend.

Sarah
June 2018

The cottage for our family of 4 adults and 1 infant was ideal, for our week long holiday in Guernsey. The cottage is in a lovely spot where you can easily walk to the beach and local pub / restaurant but also have a nice quiet spot. We enjoyed the use of the pool and the cottage had all the facilities we needed. The communication, thoughtful advice and food gifts were very much appreciated and David and Diana are wonderful hosts. They even provided a travel cot for the infant, which saved a fair amount of boot space. Would certainly come here again.

Thomas
July 2018

David and Diana are excellent hosts, very friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The property was outstanding, with lots of lovely little touches. The location is beautiful and so tranquil, yet 10 minutes walk to the beach. Having use of the swimming pool was an added bonus! This is a five star property with excellent hosts and a credit to Airbnb. Thank you!

Nigel
July 2018

A beautiful place, I can’t imagine what more one could want for a stay on Guernsey. Highly recommended.

James
July 2018

Cute cottage in rural setting . Local hotel 20 min walk – nice restaurant. It was a saving grace to have a hire car to get around and buy groceries. The bus service was favourable too. It was lovely to have a welcome pack of Milk, bread, butter eggs, home-made jam and cider. The kitchen was nice and appreciated.

Alison
August 2018

Great hosts, lovely house and great location. Hope to come back

Lucie
August 2018

Fantastic hosts – lovely accommodation with everything you need and smashing island to explore.

Terrence
September 2018

Lovely cottage – great location – walk to the beach is downhill and is on super quiet lanes so easy to walk the dogs down to the beach. The courtyard garden is completely dog proof! We stayed out of season so the pool was closed, but I would think in the summer this is a wonderful bonus – the garden is enormous with a lovely summer house. There’s also little private area withtable and chairs looking out over the ocean for an evening sundowner. Great communication from hosts. Thanks so much.

Jacki
October 2018

We had a lovely short break at David and Diana’s cottage – it’s charming, well-equipped and tranquil, and David and Diana were the perfect hosts. They helpfully provided a travel cot for our baby and a basket of delicious local goodies. We’d certainly stay again and recommend it to anyone without hesitation.

Lindsay And Patrick
March 2019

David and Diana met us with a warm welcome and offered us help and advice on arrival. The cottage was home from home and allowed us to live as we do at home. We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather and the children enjoyed the garden every day. We could walk to the coast, access beautiful Portelet, and it was the perfect place to base ourselves for exploring and relaxing. On arrival Diana and David generously provided milk, butter, bread, home made jam and eggs, flowers on the table and more. I loved borrowing books about Guernsey from the bookshelf and that lots of equipment and home comforts were available. We felt so relaxed and happy there and hope to revisit. Lovely animals too. Thank you David and Diana, Fern and Kitty.

Phil
April 2019

A very quiet, peaceful location. Easy access from the sea port and airport. Owners are very supportive both before and during the stay. The local sandy beach is ideal for kids. The private swimming pool sets this holiday let apart from other similar properties.

John
May 2019

Idyllic. My husband, three year old son and I had lovely relaxing stay at David’s cottage. It is situated in a beautiful peaceful location that is only a 15 minute walk down quiet lanes to the beach (where there’s a hotel restaurant and beach kiosk). The cottage itself is well maintained and tastefully decorated. We were made to feel very welcome by David and were delighted to see the welcome pack after a bumpy crossing from Poole! Thanks for a lovely stay. Angela

Angela
June 2019

A beautiful cosy cottage that formed an ideal base for us as a family to explore Guernsey. The west coast beaches are a 15 minute walk away. The Airport is conveniently placed a 15 minute drive away. The use of the pool and pool house during the week was wonderful as we were spoiled with fabulous hot weather for our stay. Thank you David, Diana and George for your wonderful hospitality.

Simon
July 2019
We had a lovely stay in this cosy cottage. There was some thoughtful touches, like butter, milk, bread on arrival! Thank you for a lovely stay!
Carly
October 2019
A fabulous cottage in a great location. A beautiful building, with all of the facilities provided for a comfortable stay in Guernsey.
Martin
April 2019
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. The warm welcome, cottage, location and goodies were just wonderful. The beach just a short walk away was fantastic and our dog loved it! Hope to come and visit again soon.
James
June 2019
An idyllic spot. Quiet, away from the crowds , but easy to get to coast or to town. A very beautiful spot, and we felt very well looked after.
Ruth
September 2019